Faux Watercolor with Zig Brush Pens and Distress Ink

20150904_header

I found these beautiful Penny Black Bloom Garden clear stamps and really wanted to showcase them on some cards. Since they were stunning on their own, I wanted to keep the cards simple and add some elegance to it by using a watercolor look.

I first stamped the images with Versamark Pigment Ink and used WOW! Opaque Bright White Embossing Powder on watercolor paper. The slight elevation from the embossed image makes it a little easier to stay within the lines when coloring. I then prepped my station by taping down the paper with painter’s tape to my desk to keep the paper in place and also keep it from warping when it dries.

20150904_progress

I worked on the background first by damping the areas around the flowers with water, and then started painting with diluted Weathered Wood Distress Ink. After the background is dried, I used Zig Clean Color Brush Pens to add color to the flowers. These Zig pens are water-based so I was able to go back in with my water brush and gently blend the colors to create a more watercolor effect.

And lastly, the sentiment! I created those words from a DYMO Embossing Label Maker (which I absolutely love using!), and glued the completed work to some black card stock. I did both cards together, and I think in total it took about an hour, but well worth it! Here’s some closer shots of the cards:

20150904_hbday

20150904_poppies

Thanks for tuning in and don’t forget to follow me on social media! 🙂 Until next time.

Leave a Reply

