Simple Black & White Themed Wedding Card

20150909_header

I’m at the time in my life when all my friends are getting married one after another. So needless to say, that translates to more wedding cards to make! I dug out the Lawn Fawn Happy Wedding set and thought awhile what to do with it, since I wanted to keep a simple and clean look. I chose to use the sentiments from Technique Tuesday All Occasions and embossed it with white embossing powder against 80lb black cardstock.

20150909_progress

I then made multiple stamps of the bride and groom birds and colored it in with copics (just in case I needed to make additional cards). Since I didn’t own the coordinating dies, I cut out these little guys manually, but also intentionally left the area below the feet uncut. This makes it a lot easier to glue them to the black cardstock.

To bring all the pieces together, I drew in a heart shaped line to give the birds a place to stand on with a VersaMarker Pen. This allowed me to emboss what I drew with the same white embossing powder!

Lastly, I ran a 4.25″ x 5.5″ white cardstock through the Big Shot with Echo Park White Layered Scallops Embossing Folder to add little more interest to the plain white background. It really it gave that extra classy black-tie formal look I was going for and loved how it all came together!

20150909_fullcards

I glued the white embossed cardstock to the base card first, and then added the bottom black portion with the birds and sentiment with some foam tape, to give it some elevation. And that concludes these cards!

I hope you enjoy these cards, and once I figure out my setup I’ll give it a try at putting up some how-to videos! Thanks again for staying with me and please follow my instagram! 🙂

Leave a Reply

