Ink Smooshing and Ice Cream

allcards_header

Not only are we dealing with a drought in California, we’re also going through a heat wave! What a conundrum. This calls for ice cream! And yes, I was totally eating a pint of ice cream while I making these cards. It was thus my inspiration for this cute scene!

inprogress1

I first started off by making the distress ink backgrounds by using an ink smooshing technique. I started by adding my distress ink colors to a piece of laminated paper. I brushed water on the entire ranger distress watercolor cardstock to allow ink to flow once I added color. Then, I used a piece of leftover acetate and basically picked by the ink by smooshing and sliding the acetate into the my laminated paper palette and transferred the color onto the cardstock in the same motion.

inprogress2

The inks will start spreading and mixing as you add on more colors. ❤ distress inks. I finished 3 backgrounds in total and then set it aside to work on the stamping.

For the stamping, I combined the use of 2 sets of lawn fawn stamps, the treat yourself and party animals sets. But I wanted a specific story in my card, so stretched the boundaries of my stamps by masking and drawing additional wings, expressions, and melted ice cream. After that was done, I colored them in with copics and started positioning where I wanted to glue things down.

positioning

I thought the happy birthday sentiment in the lawn fawn party animals set matched well, but it was too long so I cut it in half to separate the ‘happy’ and ‘birthday’. I was a bit indecisive on how I wanted to present the sentiment so I ended up doing one of each so I can compare.

backgrounds

So I ended up with 3 versions of this card! The sentiment was embossed with white embossing powder on black 80lb cardstock and cut out manually. I didn’t use any die cuts. And finally, I glued everything down with tombow permanent adhesive and  ranger glossy accents. Three birthday cards done!

fullcard_greenfullcard_orangefullcard_sherbert

I decided to enter one of these cards into the lawnscaping and SSS challenges, so wish me luck! This is my first time doing a challenge.

allcards

Thanks for tuning in and don’t forget to follow my instagram @kiwi.koncepts 🙂 !

6 thoughts on “Ink Smooshing and Ice Cream

  1. How fun! I love your clever additions, especially the melted ice cream! At first I thought it must be an actual image, it was so flawless. Great job! Thanks for playing with us at Lawnscaping!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

