Distressed Starlight Fade Background and Die Cut Layering

fullcard_starlight

One of the coolest things about working with distress inks is the spotted choatic look you can give it just by sprinkling some water on it, and I just absolutely love the effect it leaves. I’ve been wanting to make a starry night time background for awhile, and what better to match it with the WPlus9 Wishing You stamp and die set!

I was so eager to finish this card that I forgot to take progress shots. Sorry! But I used three Tim Holtz Distress Ink colors, in order from top to bottom: Stormy Sky, Chipped Sapphire, and Seedless Preserves. I wanted to keep a painted look so I used my paint brush and casually painted on the colors in that order while making blending it down the bottom of the card. I did not worry about the sides being clean or not. My first layer was actually a little too light, so I actually went back and did a second layer after drying to have sharper colors. And for the final “distressed” touch, i sprinkled some water with my hands and dabbed it dry with a tissue

sideview_starlight

For the clouds, I used the lawn fawn puffy cloud border dies. The front layer was cut from regular white cardstock, and the inner layer was cut from vellum. I layered these cuts with some foam tape to get a fluffy look! Then, after attaching my bunny that I’ve colored with copics between the two cloud layers, I added a few sequins for a finishing touch!

Hope you like this card as much as I do! Thanks for stopping by and happy crafting 🙂

2 thoughts on “Distressed Starlight Fade Background and Die Cut Layering

Leave a Reply

