Die Cut Inlay with Flower Embellishments

elephant_sideview

I had a personal challenge in the design of this card, as I was making this card for a friend’s little niece. There were a few requirements: it needed to have pink, it must have an elephant, and it needs to be girly. Well, that really didn’t come too easy with me, but I immediately knew I had to use the Mama Elephant Ella and Friends stamp set because it has the cutest elephant! But I wanted to add a girly touch to it, so I figured maybe a bow? a tutu? maybe color the entire elephant pink?

I had a few test trials, and it all didn’t quite come out the way I wanted. So I decided to work on the card first and then figure out what to do with the elephant later. The only thing I was sure about was that I wanted to use a pink background and use one of my tag die cuts, in this case, I stuck with the Mama Elephant Tags a Lot.

For the tag, I die cutted the pattern twice. Once on white cardstock, and once on the patterned paper. I took out the pattern paper, leaving a space for the white tag to be placed in. This die cut inlay technique allows me to place the tag down without the added elevation.

I wanted to keep the theme of the patterned paper I chose, and dug around my stamps and found the W9Plus More Fresh Cuts to be perfect! I kept the colors consistent to the flower border as close as I could, and decided to cut out the pink flowers to add some interest to it. I embossed the center of the flower with silver embossing powder and then after cutting out the flowers, I gently rolled the petals to give it a lift. This gives it a little 3D look!

elephant_sideview2

Although it may be slightly difficult to see in the picture, the sentiment is also embossed in the same silver. Then it dawned on me that the elephant should wear the same flower too! It was the perfect touch to bring all the pieces together and to add that last feminine touch. The elephant was adhered on with foam tape to give it that extra elevation. And as a last little touch, I also carefully added Ranger Liquid Pearls to the center of the little turquoise flowers. So here it is!

elephant_fullcard

The embossing embellishments may look copper in this picture because I took the picture outdoors, but it is actually silver.

Thanks for stopping by and happy crafting!

Cheers,
Keeway

Leave a Reply

