Lots of Stamping and Masking, One-Layer Card

fullcard_tweetings

This card may look clean and simple, but it is far from simple. That’s my blood and sweat coloring this card! *Collapse to floor*. There’s probably a million ways to have made this card look almost the same, but I wanted to make a one-layer card for the lawn fawn challenge, and oh my…. one-layer cards are hard!

Now, there’s so many steps that went into this I didn’t stop for a progress shot every step of the way. I’ll skip the basic stuff and just point out what techniques I used. First off, I used lawn fawn stamps from 2 different sets: Party Animals and Winter Sparrows.

progress2_tweetings

The first stamping required me to mask the reindeer, since the sparrows sitting on his head overlaps with its antlers. Then, I went ahead and stamped post its to prepare the masking for the sparrows, in order to stamp the background image. Now, there were probably other background stamps that would have made this card a little easier, but Just Rite Cling Winter Wonder is literally the ONLY background stamp I own. I got it on sale at Joann’s. I know I know… I need more stamps!!

I used the hero arts dusty blue stamp pad on the background, and stamped that down. Now it’s not over yet! For the next part, I used a technique that I actually learned from Jennifer Mcguire. She called it “faux metal” technique, and although my picture does not do it justice, it comes out really beautifully!

IMG_20150925_154733351

So in order to get the perfect pearls to stick to the surface, I dabbed the Versamark Stamp Pad onto the surface of the card so that it will have a sticky surface. Then I took my paint brush and and brushed the powder all over the card. I gently wiped it clean with a Kleenex after I was done to get rid of any loose powder. I then took a white stamp pad, and blended a circle where the animals are to highlight that area. This also helps hide the white areas the background stamp wasn’t able to capture near the masks.

Then, I was able to remove the masks, draw the music book that the reindeer is holding, and copic color in all the animals. I finished up with the sentiment “Season’s Tweetings” and added a few music notes around the group. After all, they are carollers!

For a last touch, I added red/white baker’s twine and tied a bow to the bottom of it, shave off a little bit of the sides to give it a white border from the base folded card stock. That finishes up the card!

finishedcard_tweeting

Hope you like this card. It took me 6 tries! One-layer cards sure don’t give you much leeway for mistakes. Well, wish me luck!

I am entering this card into the following challenges:

and

Simon Says Wednesday Challenge: No Designer Paper

One thought on “Lots of Stamping and Masking, One-Layer Card

Leave a Reply

