Illustrating with your stamps part 2 — Dress them up!

fullcard_trick

I love working with these penguins because they allow me to get creative! I decided to take these guys out for one more halloween card, but rather than do any masking this time around, I cut them out individually (which took tons of patience!) and lots and lots of details to make this scene.

Almost all my drawings always start from my notebook of scribbles and doodles where I brainstorm and create scenes for things I stamp in there. I won’t be showing you that notebook since it’s top secret stuff, but! I will share with you my sketches that I had for these little guys before I colored and detailed their costumes!

progress2_trick

It all starts with some stamping, in this case I chose to use a light grey stamp pad, and some sketches in pencil. Since I wasn’t masking this time around, I was able to just stamp the entire image this time and start drawing. After I’m done with the pencil sketches, I go over all the lines with a Micron 005 Black Pen, or you can use a Copic Multiliner if you own that instead. I make sure the drawn lines are dried, before I start erasing the pencil lines. Not much different than before, I copic colored these guys, and cut them out individually.

progress1_trick

For the background, I went with 4 distress inks that I watercolored on with just a random brush I grabbed. You can see that I wasn’t being too careful with the ends of the paper, but I do make sure my colors weren’t too blended so that I can still visibly see the colors. I then die cut out the background with smaller of the 2 frames found in the Mama Elephant Sew Fancy Creative Cuts, which essentially cuts off the jagged painted edges.

I arranged and glued my penguin pieces onto the background, and also added some finishing touches. I added Zig Wink of Stella to the bunny ears, butterfly wings, and witch’s hat for some glitter awesomeness. Then, I also added Glossy Accents, to the bag, pumpkin basket, and cauldron. I also used a white gelly roll pen a few more small details to the scene, such as the butterfly wings and bags.

I added a black embossed “Happy Halloween” at the top and glued the scene to black cardstock to finish up the card. And there you have it, the penguins are at it again and out trick-or-treating. Someone stop that penguin from stealing candy!!

fullcard_trick

Hope you enjoyed this short post on illustrating with your stamps, and I hope to share more fun cards with you!

Cheers,

Keeway

3 thoughts on “Illustrating with your stamps part 2 — Dress them up!

  1. I can’t get over how stinking’ cure these Penguins are–so I ordered them. I use a notebook to sketch out ideas too and try to incorporate some doodles in my cards. I love your Halloween ‘accessories’ ☺

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

