Repurposing Christmas Stamps and Tags

header_birthday1080

It’s not even November yet and here I am already thinking about how I can reuse my Christmas stamps for non-holiday cards, ha! I may be wrapped up in making a bunch of holiday cards but I still can’t forget my friends with November and December birthdays!

In today’s card, I used quite a few different Mama Elephant stamp sets: Christmas Spirit, Tandem Ride, Tandem Extras, and Mini Messages. I did pile on quite a lot, but I had so much fun making this card! So fun that I may have forgotten to take progress shots… sorry. But I did not use any new techniques in this card design so let’s get started.

I repurposed these adorable Christmas elves for a birthday themed card by using bright colors and drawing in some party hats. I used a polka dot stencil to help me draw the circles and a ruler to draw the stripes. I didn’t change much to the girl’s clothing as it works perfectly well that she wears a brown belt, but for the boy’s shirt, I needed to find a way to get rid of the belt. I could of applied the same strategy of using a Q-tip prior to stamping as my previous post, but I had already stamped the elves and didn’t want to start over. So instead, I used a white gel pen to cover up the belt, and gave him a striped shirt.

sideview_birthday1080

All the characters are copic colored, and I added some Wink of Stella, to the birthday hats, balloons, and the present. The birthday elves are holding onto happy birthday tags that I made with Mini Messages, that are hung on yellow baker’s twine.

I added all the pieces with foam tape to a background I made by blending distressed inks, and added a few clear sequins to finish the card!

fullcard_birthday1080

I’ll also be submitting this card for Mama Elephant’s October Challenge, so wish me luck! Hope you like today’s post and please stay tuned for many more cards :).

Cheers,

Keeway

Supplies

http://static.inlinkz.com/ppr.js

4 thoughts on “Repurposing Christmas Stamps and Tags

Leave a Reply

