Sharing Kindness through Card Making

header_kindness

Today I am sharing with you a card that I made for the Share Handmade Kindness Challenge hosted by Jennifer Mcguire. Week 1 of the challenge focuses on sharing handmade kindness with friends and family, and my very first thought was this card I wanted to make for my dad for his upcoming birthday and for our annual Thanksgiving/Christmas tradition.

For this card, I used Bear Hugs and Christmas Scene. My dad’s birthday is in November, and every year during the Thanksgiving holiday, we put up our Christmas tree and decorate it. It has been a family tradition since I was little and has always been something I looked forward to every year in November. I wanted to make this card for my dad for his birthday and to commemorate our special moments around this holiday season.

I chose to build this scene by heat embossing the image onto watercolor paper. I colored in the bear, tree, and ornaments using Zig Clean Color Brushes and finished off the background with Vintage Photo distress ink. To add a little more interest to the card, I die cut the watercolored image Zig Zag Rectangle STAX Die-namics, layered on top of a rectangular gold glitter paper, and on top of white base cardstock. I added some red baker’s twine at the very end to finish off the card.

Although a relatively simple card, I wanted to share handmade kindness with someone close to my heart and wanted to share something very meaningful to me.

instagram_kindness

I hope you like this card as much as I do. And if you have not had a chance to check out Jennifer’s Share Handmade Kindness Challenge, you should definitely participate! #sharehandmadekindness

week-1

Hope you have a wonderful week!

Cheers,

Keeway

6 thoughts on “Sharing Kindness through Card Making

Leave a Reply

