Snow Day with Penguins

header_snowday

I finally have a small break to do some personal projects and finish up those Christmas cards I’m so incredibly behind on! It’s been awhile since I picked up these Arctic Penguins, but I recently took out the set once again to make some additional zombie penguin cards for some good friends. Funny enough, I haven’t used them much on Christmas cards so I thought I should take them out for a spin!

progress_snowday

I started the card by first building my background by blending Altenew Sea Glass dye ink on white cardstock with a snow slope masked off. There’s plenty of dies out there for slopes, but I just simply cut a slope freehand from a piece of scratch paper and used it as my mask. Lastly, I sprinkled on some white watercolor to create some snow in the sky.

I decided to take the penguins out for some fun on a snow day, and have them build a penguin snowman! Or I suppose a snowpenguin.. a snowguin? To create the snowman I used the Arctic Penguin coordinating dies, and partial die a penguin from white cardstock. I basically left out the feet and then simply cut a slope on each side freehand to have my front layer of snow.

I drew eyes, buttons, and beak of my snowpenguin with a copic multiliner and created shadows with my copic markers. I stamped and die cut out the penguins and also colored them in with copic markers.

sideview_snowday

I then used the pierced rectangle frames from MFT to help me create an acetate window to allow me turn this into a full card shaker. Now it looks like they’re having blast in snow!

fullcard_snowday

I really love how this card turned out and it was difficult for me to part with it when I mailed it away, but at least I know the recipient will love it! Hope today’s card inspired you to make some snowpenguins! 😀 Snowbunnies anyone?

Cheers,

signature

Supplies

http://static.inlinkz.com/ppr.js

2 thoughts on “Snow Day with Penguins

Leave a Reply

