Hey Beautiful!

IMG_9967_1080

I’ve been so busy with DT work in the past couple of weeks that my own collection of stamps have been piling up! So you’ll be seeing some wonderful variety of cards in the next couple of weeks from all the stash I’ve been hiding all this time. If you recognize these monkeys, you’d know that today I’ll be sharing my card with some Waffle Flower stamps!

Another one of my 2016 crafty goals is to do a better job about documenting my process, so I definitely took a lot more progress shots to share with you this time. I haven’t quite figured out a good way to make videos quite yet, but one of these days, it’ll happen!

2016-01-16 20.15.38_1080

The first thing I always do before I start any card is to stamp, die cut, and color my characters.  I lay them out and then think about how I want to use them on my card, and then start making a background for it! Here I used the tattered rose, frosted vanilla cake, and tumbled glass inks. The tattered rose was blended in a circle where I planned to put the adorable Faye. I wanted her to shine, like how you’d see someone beautiful and fall in love at first sight.

2016-01-16 20.44.02_1080

I wanted Will to be hanging down from a tree, upside down. So I die cut a bunch of leaves out of a piece of watercolor paper that I blended mowed lawn distress ink and distressed prior to die cutting. This added just a touch of texture to the leaves.

IMG_9970_1080

The tattered rose ink didn’t come off strong enough for me, and I wanted to Faye to shine like the prettiest monkey of all. So I went back and stamped a sun ray pattern where she would be placed, and heat embossed bridal tinsel powder to add more sparkle. That’s more like it!

2016-01-17 10.04.14_1080

The last, and final part is gluing it all together. When gluing these leaves, I intentionally glued the top half so that the bottom half can have a little lift to it. I hooked Will’s tail around the leaves and put just a dot of glue on it.

2016-01-17 10.04.52_1080

And finally, the scene is complete!

IMG_9971_1080

It’s always difficult to show a good picture of the small shiny details on the card so I went out to the balcony in hopes to share a better photo of how Faye sparkled, but I don’t think I quite got what I wanted. I tried!

2016-01-17 10.06.58_1080

Hope you liked today’s card! Waffle Flower makes the cutest monkeys and I hope to share some more cards with their stamps in the future. I saw the sneak peeks of their Spring 2016 stamps, and I’m not sure how I’ll be able to resist it when the time comes!

Cheers,

signature

Supplies 

2 thoughts on “Hey Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

