Thanks for being Awesome!

2016-01-23 16.18.04_header

Sometimes, you just want to thank someone for being awesome in your life. That’s right all of you are awesome! And I’m thankful for that everyday. It felt like a floral kind of week, so I continued my momentum and made some more flower-themed cards today. Is it me, or do you ever feel that you have to reset your mindset when you’re making floral versus critter cards? Well.. maybe it’s just me.

Everytime I see stamps that are more sketch-like, I’m just drawn to watercoloring. Well to be honest, I wanted to watercolor first, and then was drawn to using this stamp set. I stamped images from the set in a random fashion until I filled up the watercolor paper in MementoLuxe Rich Cocoa mixed media ink. I thought black may have been a little too strong for the feel I wanted to create so I went with a brown instead.

2016-01-23 16.18.19_1080

I focused on 3 colors, the red, purple, and green only. Any shading was just done by varying the amount of water used with the watercolor paint. To match the stamps, my watercoloring was also very loose (my favorite for the non-artist haha). And after all was done, I went back and sprinkled colors of red and purple on the watercolor panel, and a lot of it. My desk got pretty messy from this…

IMG_0001_1080

And lastly, we can’t forget the sentiment. I chose to use the same cocoa rich ink and stamped it on vellum. I then heat the sentiment in clear to make sure that it can’t get smeared somehow and also to maintain the wet texture the sentiment looked. I then fussy cut out the sentiment, with about a 3mm spacing around it.

For my second version of the card, I decided to tailor the design for a challenge, CAS(E) this Sketch #156. The sketch for this challenge is:

cts_156

Isn’t this a fun one? So here we go, let’s watercolor again!

2016-01-23 08.30.38-8_1080

A little less random stamping this time around since I wanted to follow the form of the sketch. I really loved the rose in this set, so that was my main pattern.

2016-01-23 16.18.33_1080

Instead of fussy cutting out the sentiment, I cropped it so that it would be wrapped around the card at the bottom in a rectangular shape. And here’s the final product!

IMG_9997_1080

Hope you enjoy’s today’s cards!

Cheers,

signature

Supplies

4 thoughts on “Thanks for being Awesome!

Leave a Reply

