Oh Happy Day!

2016-02-01 20.24.56_1080

It’s the second day of “The Daily Marker 30 Day Coloring Challenge” and my first card completed during this coloring marathon. If you follow my Instagram, you may have saw my day one coloring of these Oh Happy Birds from Mama Elephant.

2016-01-30 17.10.54_1080

I’ve been pretty excited about this month’s coloring challenge since I had a little more time to prepare. Let’s hope I can keep it up! It’s pretty tough for me to spend a lot of time crafting on the weekdays so let’s hope my preparations are enough to sustain me!

I’m almost 30, and a lot of my friends have been getting married around this age. If not already married, they’re probably engaged. As a result, I’ve been going to plenty of weddings, and the last one recently got married on the beach. And that’s where my inspiration was drawn from.

IMG_0006_1080

The background is fully done with distress inks. I realized on accident that if I vary the pressure of my distress blending, I can create a lightly cloudy sky! It was just the perfect weather I wanted to create.  The sand was blended and then distressed to add a little texture. And I then freehand cut the shape of the sand. To create the awning, I did stretch the floral arches form the stamp set to force it stamp straight. The beauty of photopolymer stamps! I had to fussy cut those ones out since the die cut was only meant for the curved shape. And lastly, the sentiment was heat embossed on in black.

Cheers,

signature

Supplies

2 thoughts on “Oh Happy Day!

Leave a Reply

