Lucky to Have You

IMG_0007_header.jpg

Ever since I started cardmaking, I always felt like I’m behind on the holidays, but this time I’m ahead! I love thinking of new ways to stretch the use of my stamps and dies, because it saves me money, haha. So today I am sharing with you how I used my heart dies to create a shamrock for a St. Patrick’s Day theme.

2016-01-31 21.13.31-2

I first drew 2 crossed lines in pencil to help me line up the hearts, that I line up the hearts on to create the shamrock leaves. I die cut the hearts from the Mama Elephant Dotted Details Creative Cuts. They have cute little lots surrounding the hearts that add just the perfect delicate detail to the hearts. For the stem, however, I had to free-hand and cut out with my craft knife.

2016-02-01 04.03.29

The next step is to prepare the distress background. Since it hidden behind the shamrock panel, it didn’t matter how messy it got. I used Peacock Feather Distress Ink, which is this beautiful turquoise color. I’m just totally in love this color, and worked really well with the light purple birds I previously colored. I splashed a little bit of water to create the distress texture. Next, I created my own sentiment “lucky to have you” with the ME Bella Letters.

Then, finally the fun part, prepping the shaker portion! As you can see the foam tape circled around the die cut portion and got a little intricate. I was really not in the mood to double layer it, so I picked out this Pink Party Couture Mix, that had small sequins and flat heart-shaped gilding that was just perfect for a single foam taped shaker. Not to mention, the little hearts just makes this perfect!

IMG_0008_1080

After I put together the entire card, I made a last minute decision to add some gold washi tape to the top and bottom of the card. I can’t quite find the link to this specific washi tape, but it is one from Little B. The pattern and the shine of the gold just finished it perfectly for the St. Patrick’s theme. Also, as an unintentional result, I realized the washi tape hides the foam sides really well!

IMG_0007_1080

So there you have it! My first St. Patrick’s Day card of the year and a fun little shaker card idea if you want to stretch the use of your Valentine products!

Cheers,

signature

Supplies

2 thoughts on “Lucky to Have You

Leave a Reply

