Smile for Happy Birds

2016-02-14 10.25.14_1080

It’s Day 15 of the Daily Marker 30-day challenge! I have been going strong this entire time, but I decided to take a 1-day break on Valentine’s Day. It was worth it 🙂 And I hope all of you had a wonderful Valentine’s Day as well! Today, I’m sharing with you a pair of cards I made with one of my new favorite stamp sets, Happy Birds from WPlus9.

You may have seen my IG post on Friday, with the following image:

2016-02-13 08.46.59

When I got this stamp set, less than a week ago, I was so incredibly excited! I just absolutely love the modern look of these birds and I do hope that Dawn designs more like these! I’m quite a sucker for modern minimal art styles. And with type of artwork, I like the coloring to be flat and solid, which is what I did here with these birds!

IMG_0036_1080

Clean and simple is definitely the way to go. And with that in mind I made a simple watercolor background that was offset to the left, where I planned to place to birds, pirched on a branch. I did however wanted to create more varying levels so some leaves and clouds were stamped directly on the card, and some where die cut out and elevated with foam tape.

2016-02-14 10.25.22_1080

I also added a little more interest by adding diagonally striped black and white washi tape to the left edge, and cropped my panel to a 4″ width. I added a stitched edge to the left side, and elevated the whole panel with craft foam. Now we got a clean and modern look!

IMG_0035_1080

I colored multiple birds cause it was so fun and easy so I made a few more cards with the same design, but with different variations of birds. I just love these cards so much! And I have so many cards to send out that these were just perfect. Hope these happy birds put a big smile on your face. Have a wonderful week!

Cheers,

signature

Supplies:

My Favorite Things BASIC STITCH LINES Die-Namics MFT777  Wplus9 HAPPY BIRDS  Wplus9 HAPPY BIRDS

4 thoughts on “Smile for Happy Birds

Leave a Reply

