What is Your Story?

2016-02-27 14.33.58_header

Happy Monday! I have a pretty big surprise for you today! Amy (TheCraftBunny) and I have been working on a little secret project together on a collaboration video to share how we create our storytelling/scene cards. And as part of this project, we both used the same MFT London Mice stamp set and share our own personalities and style in our cards!

Collaboration Picture_800

We both love creating scenes in our cards, but our inspiration are driven in different ways, and we share our stories in the video below!:

If you just watched the video, you may realize I had to skip quite a few details of how I made my card, which is why I am going share more details here. As I mentioned in the video, I stamped a few of the London landmarks and icons from the stamp set and embossed the image in white. I then blended Weathered Wood Distress Ink to create a gloomy London sky. The images will resist and still show clearly.

Next, I used a water brush and paper towel to lift up some of the distress ink from selected spots, and went back and colored in with copic markers.

IMG_0080_1080

For the houses and trees, I have stamped them in and light grey dye ink. I was not trying to do no-line coloring, but rather trying to a get light lined image to stay consistent with the soft colored scene. After die cutting these stamped images, I can now add color to them in with my copic markers.

2016-02-27 14.33.27_1080

The coloring is solid and flat. And I like to pair that style of coloring with whimsical stamps. It’s just a personal preference of style that I really like, and what I felt fit well in this scene.

2016-02-27 14.33.41_1080

After all the pieces are colored and ready to go, the last fun part is adhering all the pieces together. There are 3 layers going on here, the initial base layer with the gloomy skies, our first layer of homes, and our second layer of homes with trees. So when positioning these down, you’ll need to consider what level you are gluing it to, so you can be sure to adhere the proper amount of foam tape. We wouldn’t want this beautiful card to get destroyed in the mail!

2016-02-28 16.46.12

After that is all done, I adhered our scene onto a piece of A2 white cardstock. But wait! I did not forget the sentiment. Since there was already so much going on in the front of the card, I thought it best to stamp our sentiment inside the card. The sentiment from the MFT Whimsical Greetings, and i stamped it in a darker shade of grey and added a couple of trees that I colored earlier next to it.

IMG_0094_1080

Here is the final product! What do you think?

It was fun making this video with Amy, although it was definitely not easy! My camera overheated and shut off about 5x during the take, and I was learning how to edit while editing. Maybe you’ll see more videos from in the future? Who knows! 🙂 I don’t know! *Shrugs* Well, thanks for stopping by and hope you have a lovely week!

Cheers,

signature

Supplies:

8 thoughts on “What is Your Story?

Leave a Reply

