Here For You Day & Night

2016-03-27 18.01.20-2_header

Good morning!! It’s my last day guest designing on the MFT blog today :(. It was fun while it lasted. I am ever so thankful to work with such an amazing company! 🙂 Today I’m focusing my cards on the stitched window panel die from MFT Blueprints 27, and building scenes with a focus on the sky!

If you’ve followed my work for some time, you may already know that I love building scenes, and one of my favorite things to do is creating beautiful, blended skies. The  stitched window panel from Blueprint 27 is incredibly versatile. And I came up with a few cards to showcase some fun ways to use these frames!

mftkeeway_daynight02

For my first card, I created a city scape scene from day to night. When I got the frames, I thought the three compartments was a great way to split up the card to have 3 separate scenes, like a comic strip! And so I utilized these compartments to create 3 separate times of day: morning, noon, and night. For the bottom rectangle, I die cut out the skyline border in black cardstock, and also added a yellow piece of post-it behind the night side to create the imagery that lights were being turned on! A few of the tiny die cut squares in the building were intentionally left in, as there are always early birds like me who sleep early! Haha!

mftkeeway_daynight01

I thought the scene was perfect to describe unconditional love morning, noon, and night. So I found the perfect sentiment “I Will Always Be Here for You” from the Adorable Elephants stamp set, which I heat embossed onto my cityscape. Everything came together perfectly!

mftkeeway_monkeystars02

For my second card, I featured the vertical Stars in the Sky dies.  I wanted to create a starry painted sky, and picked up my watercolors to create this fun background, and then die cut the stars out. The Stars in the Sky die makes it so easy to create this starry scene, and not to mention all those die cut stars is going to work great as shaker pieces for another project!

A starry night sky isn’t complete without a moon! So I picked up some help from a cheeky monkey. To help him climb up to the sky, I created a ladder using the same window panel die I used in the first card! I pre-stamped a piece of kraft cardstock with the Wood Plank Background, die cut half the panel, and snipped off the 2 sides of the frame to create the ladder.

mftkeeway_monkeystars01

Now our cheeky little monkey can carry the moon up to the painted sky to complete the scene! I finished the card off with the sentiment “Shine Bright” and embellished the card with a few clear sequins.

And that’s it for my final post today! I hope you enjoy my projects and was inspired to create some scenes yourself!

Cheers,

signature

Supplies

(First Card – “I Will Always Be Here For You”)

(Second Card – “Shine Bright”)

 

 

4 thoughts on “Here For You Day & Night

Leave a Reply

