Floral Watercolor Blend

2016-03-25 12.54.07-3_1080header

Happy Saturday! Today I am sharing with you a soft, but bright floral card for this week’s edition of Inspired by All The Little Things #9. I was recently lucky enough to be selected to be a part of this wonderful group of talented designers for the Inspired by All The Little Things challenge team! Every Saturday, I’ll share with you a card inspired by the current selected floral photo for the week. Hope you drop by and join us every week!

This week’s challenge photo inspired me to utilize loose watercolor drops of pinks, purples, and orange. The flowers in the photo instantly reminded me of the Concord & 9th Wildflower stamps and so I just had to use them out for this card.

Inspired All the Little Things #9

9

The bursts of pink, purple, yellow, and orange soft colors really stood out for me. And so I imitated that affect by creating soft bursts of color by dropping watercolor onto a piece of watercolor. With a well damped watercolor paper, the color will burst on its own and create soft edges. And because we’re adding a lot of water to the paper, be sure to use watercolor paper that is thicker to be able to hold all the water. Here I use 140 lb.

2016-03-25 12.54.34-4_1080

After creating my bursts of color, I then set it aside to dry. After it was completely dry, I came back and heat embossed the florals  over the colors in white embossing powder. I then trimmed down the watercolor piece slightly smaller than my A2 base card and adhered it to the base.

2016-03-25 12.54.19-3_1080

I then added sentiments from the Concord & 9th Beautiful Words set on a piece of black card stock. I trimmed the piece down and adhered it to my watercolor piece with foam tape.

IMG_0183_1080ig

And that completes this week’s inspirational card. I hope you join us in this week’s challenge and try creating some soft watercolor bursts!

Cheers,

signature

Supplies

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Floral Watercolor Blend

Leave a Reply

