Smile for Berries!

2016-04-01 18.13.26-2_header

Good morning and welcome back for another week of Inspired by all the Little Things #10. This week’s inpiration features some delicious berries, including my all time favorite, strawberries! And to my surprise, I don’t own that many fruit stamps. But I found one in my Waffle Flowers stash, phew!

Inspired by All the Little Things #10

10

Today’s card, I not only used strawberries, as featured in this photo, but I also use the color palette for my card, primarily red and blue. I used the strawberry stamp from my Waffle Flower Claire stamp set and used it to create a strawberry patterned background. They are stamped with black Versafine ink, so that I can watercolor over it.

2016-04-01 18.13.38-2_1080

I wanted a loose watercolor look, so I intentionally painted outside the lines. Since my stamps are cute and whimsical, I matched the way I paint to how the stamps were designer. Some layers of lighter and darker shades of the same colors help create texture and depth in the paints. And then, when all the fruits are done, I went back and painted the whole card in blue. I used the same blue (with less water) and sprinkled some dots.

I wanted Claire to match the look of my background so she is also loosely watercolored. The sentiment “SMILE until your cheeks hurt” is from the Waffle Flower Tiger & Lilly set.  Again, to match the loose coloring and to help the sentiment stand out, I embossed the sentiment in white and painted on some brush strokes. I die cut the sentiment with PPP Stitched Borders.

IMG_0198_1080

My strawberry background panel is adhered with some craft foam underneath, and both Claire and the sentiment banner are adhered to the background directly with some Tombow tape runner. Now I have a cute card to send! 🙂

Hope you enjoy today’s inspiration to create some fun loose watercolor backgrounds! Let loose and have some fun and link up your work!

Cheers,

signature

Supplies:

 

6 thoughts on “Smile for Berries!

Leave a Reply

