Effie’s Surprise Birthday Party Blog Hop!

2016-03-22 09.05.42_header

Surprise! Happy Birthday Effie! If you’ve been hopping along our surprise birthday party blog hop, you probably came from Eunji’s blog. Today’s card features the Avery Elle Tweet Tweet stamp set. I wanted to create a fun, bright, and colorful card to celebrate our dear Effie’s birthday, and nothing speaks colorful more than some tropical birds!

2016-03-22 09.05.20_1080

I started with a warm, tropic background created with abandoned coral and wild honey distress inks. The background is distressed with water to add some texture. The birds are stamped in MFT Black Licorice Ink, and then colored in with copic markers. My birds were colored in shades of red, yellow/orange, and bright green! Strong colors help the birds stand out from the bright background. The swings are stamped with TT Found Topaz Ink, and all pieces were die cut out with the coordinating dies.

2016-03-22 08.22.32_1080

Onward to the fun part! I prearranged the birds on my background to get an idea of how I wanted to glue everything down. I chose to hang the swings on twine so I tied each one of the swings and hung it over the card. You would want to start from the bottom up so that the twine will be behind the swings above it. Also the swings on the top half were also elevated with foam tape to create the effect that they were more in the foreground.

2016-03-22 09.06.04_1080

I then finished the card off with a sentiment in the corner. I wanted to make sure that the sentiment was legible so I stamped and embossed it in bronze on a separate white cardstock, die cut stitched borders, and adhered it with foam tape to the corner of the card.

IMG_0176_1080ig

And here is my finished card. Happy Birthday Effie and I hope you like this card!

You are at the last stop of this birthday celebration hop! But if you didn’t start for the beginning and need some directions, here’s the full list to help navigate your way:

Keeway <— You are here

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend and Happy Easter!

Cheers,

signature

Supplies:

 

 

20 thoughts on “Effie’s Surprise Birthday Party Blog Hop!

Leave a comment